Finnoy Travel - Travel Stories and Reviews
Wizz Air boarding at Warsaw Airport
Boarding Wizz Air's Airbus A321 at Warsaw Airport. The flight was really full but Wizzair managed well and everything went smoothly.

Review: Wizz Air - a Reliable Airline or a Purple Spark?

  • By Finnoy Travel
  • April 12, 2021

This page contains affiliate links. Clicking them is free but we may receive a small commission. Please read our advertising policy to understand how the partners have been chosen.

Things change. After writing this Wizz Air review, Wizz Air has made some changes to its policies and the overall quality has lowered. Check what kind of problems their new luggage policy generates.

Low-cost Business Model

More and more European flight routes are operated by low-cost airlines. One of them is Wizz Air, which may not be widely known airline for all travelers. The airline comes from Hungary and it concentrates on flying in East Europe. However, Wizz Air has also many routes elsewhere in Europe and the Middle East. If you are not yet familiar with this purple low-cost airline, you may be surprised how extensive a route network it has. If you live in Europe, there is probably a city close to you where Wizz Air flies.

The main hub of Wizz Air is in Budapest Airport. There are also many secondary hubs including but not limited to Gdansk, Warsaw and Kyiv. Wizz Air's pricing model is based on a low-cost business strategy. Tickets are cheap but they include only flights. All other things must be paid separately. This is the classical low-cost business model.

Wizzair at Gdansk Airport
Gdansk is a hub of Wizzair. The airport is close to the city centre of this beautiful city.

Safety of flying is always important. Statistically, Wizzair has a great safety record and that is a sign that they are operating professionally. We consider them to be a safe airline but flying always has its risks.

Pros Compared to Other Low-cost Airlines

Ryanair and Easyjet are probably Europe's most well-known low-cost airlines. What makes Wizzair better?

Extensive Route Network Especially in East Europe

One of Wizz Air's biggest advantages is the different route networks. The airline flies to many East European cities where other low-cost airlines do not fly to. Wizz Air offers flights to East European cities which could be expensive to reach with traditional airlines. In addition, they have many destinations in the whole of Europe with top destinations including Paris, Budapest, Barcelona, Bucharest, Milan, Stockholm and a lot more.

Wizzair Airbus A321 at Oslo Torp Airport
Not all Wizzair's destinations are in East Europe. This Airbus A321 is waiting for people to board at Oslo Torp Airport. Unfortunately, Torp Airport is quite far from Oslo.

Prices Are Low

Wizz Air offers cheap flights. According to our Wizzair experiences, you can fly almost 2000 km only with 20 euros. Of course, it is not common to get that cheap tickets but it is sometimes possible. Ryanair may have inexpensive flight ticket offers as cheap as Wizz Air's.

Moderate Charges for Extra Services

Low-cost airlines are cheap as long as you do not buy too many extra services. Luckily Wizz Air has priced its extra services moderately.

Cons to Wizzair's Low-cost model

Airports Are Sometimes Far from Cities

Many low-cost airlines, including Wizz Air, are flying to small airports. These airports are cosy and you can pass through them fast. Unfortunately, they are often far from big cities so taking a bus or a train to the city may take much time and cost even more than your flight ticket. This is a common issue with many low-cost airlines. Wizz Air is not an exception.

Strict Baggage Rules

Wizz Air has really strict baggage rules. At the time of our flights, we were allowed to take only one cabin luggage. It could weigh 10 kilograms and the maximum size was 55 x 40 x 23 cm. Check-in luggage cost more. By buying priority boarding, we were allowed to take another small bag to the cabin.

Wizz Discount Club

Low-fare airlines normally do not have bonus programs. However, Wizz Air makes an exception with their discount club for their customers.

Wizz Air has WIZZ Discount Club that is meant for their frequent flyers. The club membership is not free. For basic membership, you must pay 29,99 euros annually. Premium membership costs more. The advantage of the club membership is that you will get exclusive offers and normally at least 10 euros discount for every one-way flight and also a discount for baggage fees. Your companion will also get the said discounts.

How to Find an Inexpensive Flight?

Follow our simple checklist to find a good deal:

  • Compare flight prices on Skyscanner on different dates.
  • Choose the most suitable schedule and price.
  • Decide whether to book directly from the airline or via an Online Travel Agency (OTA)
  • Let Skyscanner to forward you to the chosen booking site.
  • Go through the booking process and avoid buying unnecessary extras.
  • Double check all the details CAREFULLY before the payment.

Our Wizz Air Experiences

We have flown many flights with Wizz Air. All our flights have been operated without any problems. No delay or flight cancellations have occurred. In short term, everything has gone safely and smoothly.

Flights from Turku to Gdansk and Back

Once, we flow a short flight from Turku, Finland to Gdansk, Poland. The route took a little more than 1 hour.

Turku Airport is a small airport and our flight was the only departing flight at that time. We had made check-in online (at the airport it would cost) and everything at the airport went smoothly. We were offered a free check-in for our cabin luggage because the flight was almost fully booked. Unfortunately, a customer before us was not that lucky and he had to pay an expensive price for his overweight luggage. So be careful not to take too heavy luggage with you.

Wizzair plane at Turku Airport
December 2017, the photo was taken at Turku Airport. It was icy and peaceful. Our plane departed on time despite winter conditions.

Our Wizz Air Rating

Fleet

Our flights were operated with Airbus A320 and A321 fleets. Planes seemed to be new and in really good condition. There was not much space inside the cabin but no one expects low-cost airlines to have spacious cabins. Wizz Air's Airbus fleet is comfortable to fly with.

A cabin of a Wizzair Airbus plane.
The cabin of an Airbus was simple but comfortable. It is not spacious but there was enough space even for tall people.

On-board Services

Low-cost airlines do not have free onboard service. Wizz Air has an in-flight cafe where you can buy snacks and drinks.

The selection was not that good but surely enough for short flights.

Price Level

All our tickets have been extremely cheap. Flying almost free has been great.

Overall Experience

Wizzair is not a luxury airline. If you keep in mind that you are flying with a low-fare airline with a cheap ticket, you must be happy. You get what you have paid for.

Some reviews are circulating on the web that Wizz Air is often delayed. At least all our flights were operated on schedule. Surely some routes may be more sensitive to delays.

Practical Advises for Flying with Wizzair

Flying with Wizzair and flying with other low-cost airlines is a good choice if you just remember to follow the rules. Rules do not differ much between low-fare airlines.

Be careful with your luggage size and weight. Avoid buying check-in luggage because it costs much unless you need to bring such important stuff with you. One hand of luggage must be enough for a short holiday. Only 1 piece of cabin luggage is allowed and Wizz Air is strict about this policy. If you need another small bag inside the cabin, buy an inexpensive Priority Boarding option because it includes an extra small cabin bag.

Do check-in online. Doing it at the airport will cost a lot more.

Join the WIZZ Discount club if you plan to fly more than one Wizzair flight in a year. Remember that your companion also gets a discount. When a couple is flying a return flight, the discount is usually 40 euros but the annual membership fee is only 29 euros. So the club is worth the money.

Is Wizz Air a Good Airline?

We would say YES. Wizz Air is a competitive airline in its low-fare category. We feel that they are more relaxed than their Irish competitor Ryanair.

A wing view from a Wizzair plane
The view from Wizzair's plane during the descent to Warsaw was amazingly beautiful.

Have a look also at our other Airline Reviews.

Tags: , ,
Destination: Hungary

You might also like

Tips For Your Next Journey...

Find the Best Flight Deals

You can save a lot when you book your flights wisely. Skyscanner is one of the most popular tools to compare flight prices.

Enjoy Complimentary Services at Lounges

Start your journey in a relaxed way in an airport lounge. Lounge Pass sells single entry passes to lounges all over the world. Treating yourself with a visit to a lounge puts you into the holiday mood already at the airport!

Get a Private Transfer

Would it be nice to know that a taxi is waiting for you at the destination? Welcome Pickups arranges private transfers according to your wishes. The private transfer service suits especially families and travel groups.

Readers' Comments (45)

  1. 09-10-2022 at 4:31pm UTC by Diana :

    I was travelling back to the UK in May 2022. I could not complete the online check in as the system did not allow me to, an error message kept on coming up. I called their customer care who for whatever reason said they could not check me in over the phone, said I had to check in myself online. After some searching they said they found a fault and they fixed it and that I should now be able to check in online. However, the same error message kept on coming. So I HAD to go to the airport with no check in (not out of my own choice, but because of a fault with Wizz Air online check in system). I arrived WITH TWO SMALL CHILDREN, no support whatsoever in the airport for Wizz Air. At the check in desk I have been told I HAVE to pay the exorbitant airport check in fee of 120 euro, or I cannot board the plane, with my two kids, to return to our home in the UK. I called Wizz Air customer care again, who advised me that I should pay the exorbitant airport check in fee and that if I submit a claim once in the UK it will all be refunded to me. It sounded very reassuring so I did what I was told. However, since May I have been trying to get a refund and Wizz Air doesn't want to hear of it. Their only response to my 10 e-mails sent so far is that I "should read the terms and conditions and that I should have completed the online check in"; no response to how I should have done this when their system was not working... Their decision is that I am not due any refund, even though I have been forced to pay for a fault in their system, otherwise I would have been refused boarding... So I have to pay because they were unable to provide a required service, like the online check in... How is this possible and how are they allowed to get away with this? Absolutely disgusting!

    1. 09-10-2022 at 4:56pm UTC by Finnoy Travel :

      Thanks for the comment. Sounds like an awful experience.

      Unfortunately, airlines make often these kinds of promises and it is surprisingly common that they forget details when it's time to fulfil them.

  2. 12-23-2021 at 12:53am UTC by Vladimir :

    WizzAir is awesome!

    I never had a problem with them, flights are always on time and
    their service here in Germany is really nice. So far at least.
    They are crucial for getting to lesser knows parts of countries and
    this is super important for me. Planes are clean and comfy, if the plane is empty
    you can ask nicely to be reseated and I always get my window seat. I usually fly to clients in Romania for 8 Euros and Italy for around 15 just carrying a small backpack that exceeds their rules slightly but I never got in trouble for it.

    Most importanly the pilots are very competent and every landing has been nothing but butter for me, even on short runways in bad weather. I can only recommend them to people with low standards and small luggage.

    I know they are shady and greedy and probably caused a lot of frustration to many travellers, but I guess I got the golden ticket.

  3. 07-30-2021 at 12:16am UTC by Tomáš Haba :

    While Wizzair may not have the most comfortable airplanes and their staff on ground can at times seem impertinent bordering on outright assholish, you can be sure that they will also always include a crazy amount of hidden fees, have most their flights delayed and in case they make you miss your connection will deny any responsibility. Seriously, if you have an alternative, any alternative, use it. If you don’t then just stay at home. It’s not worth it. These people should not be in business.

    1. 07-30-2021 at 1:48am UTC by Finnoy Travel :

      Hi Tomáš,

      We can relate deeply to where your comments are comming from. Have you had such experience with WizzAir lately? Thanks for your comment, it's a valuable information for other readers.

  4. 07-28-2021 at 7:16pm UTC by Francis :

    Wizz Air made me miss my flight.
    I booked London Luton to Gibraltar. On arrival at check-in, the lady told me that I needed a COVID test first. I queried this as I had read the rules a couple of days before but she replied "Those are my instructions; the regulations may have changed in the last couple of days". They hadn't. I was correct and she was wrong. However, whilst getting tested and awaiting the result, I missed the flight. Had to go to Gatwick, book new flight, stay in hotel and miss half a day of work. Wizz Air refuse to compensate me and now don't answer my emails at all. Don't trust them - they are rogues.

    1. 07-28-2021 at 7:27pm UTC by Finnoy Travel :

      Hi Francis,

      Firstly, thanks for the comment. We're very sorry to hear this bad experience with your missed flight with WizzAir. It is just a real reflection how this airline don't care much of their customers. Please do keep your receipts from those extra expenses you incurred from missing your flight. We strongly advise you to try applying for compensation under the EU261 regulation. Contact consumer advisor of your resident country. We wish you the best in your claims!

  5. 04-28-2021 at 8:21pm UTC by Zakaria Salama :

    Very bad service. Very aggressive customer service and complaint officers and in my case I was denied boarding and no refund or compensation was issued and when I called customer service representative was very aggressive and said this is not our problem this is your problem. Honestly this is the worst airline company I have ever dealt with.

    1. 04-29-2021 at 4:02pm UTC by Finnoy Travel :

      Thank you for the comment.

      Does not sound good customer service. Just keep asking for a refund, and they will finally pay you back.

  6. 09-01-2020 at 6:27pm UTC by Iuliu :

    Customer services equal to 0 on Romanian flights , I am using wizz for all my life, a couple of time a year, holidays and trips back to home.. depands where you use them, you can't compare wizz like this, use all lines and speak after, what I can tell you for sure, is that on Romanian lines ar patetic from start to finnish. Was like this 10 years ago.,it's worse now. And about prices... 2.5 hours of flight for 350 euros nothing is low cost in that,and i bought the ticket with 10 days before... The flight crews ar more busy selling from that trolly then telling people not to let loose kids tru airplane or listen music or speaking loudly. Is more like a flying bar with peasant.... But this kind of moments I had just on trips to Romania or when I am going to ibiza from UK but that's another story... My advice is stay away as much as possible and use other company's for a couple bucks extra you can really enjoy your flight... Regards
    A. I. G

    1. 09-01-2020 at 7:10pm UTC by Finnoy Travel :

      Thank you for the comment.

      You are right, not all routes are equal. We have tested a few Wizz Air's routes and this review reflects our positive experiences. We know that not all people agree with this review.

      We encourage readers' to share their own experiences too. It's nice to see discussion around this article. :)

  7. 08-20-2020 at 12:13am UTC by Z :

    I travel few times a year to Georgia. Last year I realised if I purchase wizz air membership I could save few pound but after my first trip they cancelled their flights to Georgia for over 9 months and I don’t think there will be any changes . I have emailed them several times to know if they would return that route but no answer yet. It’s coming to the end of my membership and they told me they cannot do any thing about it. No compensation to the money that I lost.

    Please don’t fall for the advertisements of saving any kind of money with these flights. I would not recommend it to anyone and would never fly with them ever again.

    1. 08-20-2020 at 5:52am UTC by Finnoy Travel :

      Hi Z,

      Firstly, thanks for your comment. This sounds really ridiculous. It would have been nice from Wizz Air to at least show a nice gesture by even giving you a decent reply. Every airline company like almost all business companies have been experiencing economic turbulence due to the recent corona situation. However, this doesn't give them the right to ignore the rights of their customers. We recommend you seeking help from proper authorities, still you might have the right for compensation. We wish you well. Greetings from Finland - From us in Finnoy Travel.

  8. 08-05-2020 at 10:44pm UTC by Dimitri :

    Low-cost price for tickets but they will rip you off if you need to change details or add features. Very expensive price for adding baggage, 4-5 times the price of the ticket. Good company to get from A to B as the price per ticket are generally cheap, rubbish company in customers service (calls are charged like if you call erotic line), you fell a bit robbed when you buy/modify any other features.

    1. 08-20-2020 at 6:03am UTC by Finnoy Travel :

      Hi Dimitri,

      Low-cost airlines are indeed offering really cheap flight tickets, Very'low-prices' compared to flight cost when booking with traditional airlines. We really recommend to just avoid purchasing 'unnecessary' extras marketed by the airline. With this, you'll simply prevent them robbing you off. We fully understood your point. Its hilarious that the value of their penalties for even a little over-weight hand luggage and payment of extras are too way expensive than the flight ticket itself. To summarize, most low-cost airlines will try to sell as much extras in that way to compensate for their cheap flights. However, the decision is still up to the passenger to purchase such extras or no. Also, by reading carefully their own guidelines and complying with them i.e. luggage weight, size requirements, etc. You'll end up happy to your destination with a cheap flight. Hope these tips help next time you'll book flight a any low-cost airline. Cheers!

  9. 07-18-2020 at 3:22pm UTC by Andrei :

    Tickets price 68£, cancelled due to changing Covid 19 restrictions, cancellation fee 80£.
    Clever scam.

    1. 08-20-2020 at 6:07am UTC by Finnoy Travel :

      Hi Andrei,

      This is indeed an unbelievable 'scam'. Who would ever accept this kind of very unfair treatment by this airline! Its wise now to keep in mind to avoid flights with them in the future for such a ridiculous customer service.

  10. 07-01-2020 at 12:04pm UTC by Paula :

    Unbelievable.... flying to Heraklion on the 2nd July... I knew this was not going to happen on the 28th July due to Greeks not opening an Air Bridge... at 13.57 on 29th email saying “you need to go online and receive your boarding pass - 16.38 email advising “flight cancelled” - 17.42 email advising me to “Complete government coronavirus entry form for Greece ... have never used Wizzair and never ever will.....luckily I hadn’t booked accommodation or a hire car, those unfortunate passengers who had , would have lost all their money as the cancellation time was so near to departure.

    1. 08-20-2020 at 6:11am UTC by Finnoy Travel :

      Hi Paula,

      We are very sorry to hear about this unfortunate incident. We understand that situation has been a really stressful one. Still, great that you haven't book accommodation and place a car rental to minimize damage due to cancelled Wizz Air flight. We got same experience this summer and its really frustrating to get slow and negative responses from concerned companies.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Newsletter Subscription

Stay Tuned!

By subscribing to our newsletter, you won't miss interesting travel stories.

We store your email address carefully according to our Privacy Policy.

Scenery from El Hierro